Pet Photo Shoot

When I got home from work today I was excited to dive into my galia melon that I bought at Central Market yesterday. A galia is a hybrid melon between a cantaloupe and a honeydew. And let me tell you – it is delicious. It looks like a honeydew melon, but tastes somewhat like a cantaloupe. I love finding new fruit at the market and trying new exciting things. They always have something new and different each week.

I decided to test out the new camera I got yesterday with some pictures of the pets.

Meet Kirby.

Meet Queso.

My last “pet”, Ian. He wasn’t very happy about this picture. 🙂

Kirby got very interested in the camera.

But then she found something to distract her. PEANUT BUTTER! Kirby loves peanut butter.

While she was distracted, I decided to chop up some ham and a bunch of veggies and throw them into a pie pan to my a crustless Quiche.

I put it in the oven for about 20 minutes and now have breakfast for the rest of the week! I forgot to take a picture of the cooked Quiche. But I’m sure you get the drift.

For dinner, Ian and I planned for Chicken Kebabs, but decided to switch it up to what we had planned later in the week. (Partially because I forgot to thaw our frozen chicken this morning). So, we made Paleo Carne Asada with a side salad.

I whipped up a quick side salad with mixed greens, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, hard-boiled eggs, mushrooms, and a homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

The Carne Asada was delicious. Tasted like it came straight from a Mexican restaurant. I’d definitely recommend trying this recipe out.

Carne Asada Recipe (adapted from The Paleo Diet Cookbook):

1/2 jalapeño pepper
1 tsp ground cumin
2 tbls minced fresh cilantro
juice of 1 freshly squeezed lime
2 tbls EVOO
2 lbs flank steak, pounded thin with meat tenderizer tool

Combine pepper, cumin, cilantro, lime juice, and oil in small container. Put  steak in a large flat dish and pour mixture evenly on top. Marinate in refrigerator for at least two hours.

Preheat oven to broil or ignite the grill. Broil or grill for ten minutes, turning at the halfway point. Remove from heat and tent with foil for five minutes.

Here’s my dinner plate:

Well, that’s it for tonight, guys! 🙂 Hope you enjoy the rest of your night!

About erinberries

Hi! I'm Erin. I'm a twenty-something girl from Texas on her weight loss journey. I'm glad you found my blog! Feel free to contact me with any questions at erinberries@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Kirby, Queso, Recipes, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pet Photo Shoot

  1. Pingback: Another Day in the Life of Erin | erinberries

  2. Pingback: Mini Frittatas and Crustless Quiche | erinberries

Tell me what's on your mind...